Nooksack Tribal Council

The Tribe’s governing body consists of eight elected officials: One Chairman, one Vice-Chairman, one Treasurer, one Secretary and four Councilmembers. Each official is elected by all eligible voters (18 or older) of the Nooksack Tribe.


The current Nooksack Tribal Council consists of:
– Chairman Bob Kelly
– Vice-Chairman Rick D. George
– Treasurer Agripina Smith
– Secretary Nadene Rapada
– Councilmember Bob Solomon
– Councilmember Lona Johnson
– Councilmember Katherine Canete


For more information about the Tribal Council, visit the Tribal Council office at 4979 Mount Baker Highway Suite F, Deming, WA 98244, call (360) 592-5164 or fax (360) 592-4506.

Be Sociable, Share!

Congratulations and thank you for your dedication to Nooksack Tribal Member, Antonio Swanaset who is now officially a Marine!

He is a Nooksack Tribal Member. Grandson of George & Charlene Swanaset. Son of George Jr & Lolita Swanaset.

Antonio has always been a helpful young man throughout the community. Always trying to do so where ever, and whenever he can. Was always eager to cook fish for the community gatherings.

After graduating from Nooksack Valley High School, he worked for the Nooksack Housing Department for a short while.

He then spent his spare time working with his grandfather George Swanaset, building canoes, and assisting with what ever else he could.

View on Facebook

A friendly reminder the Nooksack Social Services Department has a GED Program! We are open to the local community and welcome anyone interested in obtaining their GED. Our instructor Desmond “Des” Naughton is stationed at the Deming office: M/W/F – 8:30 am to 5:00 pm and at our Skagit office: T/Th – 7:30 am to 4:00 pm

If you have any questions feel free to call 360-592-0135 (Deming office) or 360-848-1758 (Skagit office).

View on Facebook

Current survey underway for Nooksack Way of Life Program. ...

View on Facebook

An update from our Head Start Department for Head Start Families only: This week on Wednesday, September 28, we will have our Bike Rodeo. This will occur in the parking lot of the Community Building on Mission Road. We will discuss bike safety, hand signals for turning while riding a bike, the importance of wearing a helmet, and each child will be fitted for a bike helmet. This helmet will be kept in the child's cubby to use at school during outside play and will go home at the end of the school year. Please call your classrooms if you have any questions. ...

View on Facebook