Departments

Social Services Services Department

The Social Services Department consists of various programs that create stronger wellbeing for all of our Tribal members. Below you’ll find more information about the programs within the Social Services Department:

 

Department Director
Nadeen Jimmy, is the Director of Social Services. She can be reached at njimmy@nooksack-nsn.gov.

 

TANF – Temporary Assistance for Needy Families

TANF will make available the tools necessary to promote the empowering of Indian families to become self-sufficient so they can support and nurture themselves, their children, and community. TANF is a Federal and State funded program that provides cash assistance and supportive services to Native American families who are in need.

 

You can receive:
Cash Assistance/Supportive Services
– Education Development
– Career Development
– Child Care Assistance
– Transportation Assistance
– K-12 Clothing Allowance

 

In order to be eligible for the Tribal TANF Program, you must meet the following criteria:
One member of the household must be able to provide proof of membership with Federally recognized tribe through enrollment.
– Be the guardian/caretaker or a needy Native American minor, or be in your third trimester of pregnancy.
– Reside within the designated service area in Whatcom/Skagit County.
– Must meet income guidelines of equal to or less than 150 percent

 

Required Documents
Valid Washington State Identification
– Birth Certificates for all children
– Social Security Cards
– Proof of Tribal Enrollment
– Proof of Income
– Social Security Income Statements
– Veterans Benefit Income Statements
– Per Capita Payments
– Wages/Salary Check Stubs
– Current Child Immunization Records
– K-12 Enrollment and Attendance Verification for all school age children
– Current Bank Statements
– Residency Verification

 

For more information about the Nooksack TANF Program please contact Roma Furuta  Heidi Davis, Program Manager, at (360) 592-0135.

TANF Staff, Deming site:

Sherie Johnny, Assistant Director, sjohnny@nooksack-nsn.gov
Hameesh “Mimi” Jimmy, hjimmy@nooksack-nsn.gov

Dan S. Roberts, droberts@nooksack-nsn.gov
Rosalina Joseph, rjoseph@nooksack-nsn.gov
Heidi Davis, hdavis@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

TANF Staff, Skagit site: – (360) 848-1758, Fax – (360) 848-1768
Sativa Salazar, ssalazar@nooksack-nsn.gov

Jill Walker, jwalker@nooksack-nsn.gov

GED Classes – Deming and Skagit, (360) 592-0135 ext. 5124

Desmond Naughton; dnaughton@nooksack-nsn.gov

Emergency Food Assistance, (360) 592-0135
For Food Bank, Food Vouchers and Commodity Foods.
Crystal Bailey, cbailey@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

Energy Assistance, (360) 592-0135
For emergency energy assistance.
Crystal Bailey, cbailey@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

Domestic Violence Department, (360) 592-0135

Tammy Woodrich, twoodrich@nooksack-nsn.gov

Leon Cline, lcline@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

Elders Program, (360) 592-0100
Char Roberts, proberts@nooksack-nsn.gov

Elders Victim Assistance

Char Roberts, proberts@nooksack-nsn.gov

Leon Cline, lcline@nooksack-nsn.gov

(360) 966-9696
Charise Wenzl, Tutor, cwenzl@nooksack-nsn.gov
Rikki Auguston, Teen Coordinator, Rikki.auguston@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

For more information about the Social Services Department, contact us at 5061 Deming Road, Deming, WA 98244, by phone at (360) 592-0135 or fax at (360) 301-5099.

Be Sociable, Share!


General Assistance Eligibility and Application Information. ...

View on Facebook

The Nooksack Community Garden Group has been set up at the link below. ...

View on Facebook

What's your favorite outdoor Spring activity? ...

View on Facebook

FYI - Product recall linked SoyNut Butter to E coli infection: A second child has now been hospitalized in Wa State. Heads up on risk of E coli infection related to recalled food product. Please be aware and consider this source if you see individuals with possible E coli infection. Very young children and the elderly are at greatest risk of severe illness due to O 157 E Coli infections. STEC infections often include severe stomach cramps, diarrhea (often bloody), and vomiting. Be sure that anyone with these symptoms are seen immediately by a healthcare provider. Most people get better within 5-7 days, but some infections are severe or even life-threatening. Hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS) a type of kidney failure, is a potentially life-threatening complication of E. coli O157 infection. ...

View on Facebook

Nooksack Family Tree Workshop and Potluck details ...

View on Facebook