Departments

Social Services Services Department

The Social Services Department consists of various programs that create stronger wellbeing for all of our Tribal members. Below you’ll find more information about the programs within the Social Services Department:

 

Department Director
Nadeen Jimmy, is the Director of Social Services. She can be reached at njimmy@nooksack-nsn.gov.

 

TANF – Temporary Assistance for Needy Families

TANF will make available the tools necessary to promote the empowering of Indian families to become self-sufficient so they can support and nurture themselves, their children, and community. TANF is a Federal and State funded program that provides cash assistance and supportive services to Native American families who are in need.

 

You can receive:
Cash Assistance/Supportive Services
– Education Development
– Career Development
– Child Care Assistance
– Transportation Assistance
– K-12 Clothing Allowance

 

In order to be eligible for the Tribal TANF Program, you must meet the following criteria:
One member of the household must be able to provide proof of membership with Federally recognized tribe through enrollment.
– Be the guardian/caretaker or a needy Native American minor, or be in your third trimester of pregnancy.
– Reside within the designated service area in Whatcom/Skagit County.
– Must meet income guidelines of equal to or less than 150 percent

 

Required Documents
Valid Washington State Identification
– Birth Certificates for all children
– Social Security Cards
– Proof of Tribal Enrollment
– Proof of Income
– Social Security Income Statements
– Veterans Benefit Income Statements
– Per Capita Payments
– Wages/Salary Check Stubs
– Current Child Immunization Records
– K-12 Enrollment and Attendance Verification for all school age children
– Current Bank Statements
– Residency Verification

 

For more information about the Nooksack TANF Program please contact Heidi Davis, Program Manager, at (360) 592-0135.

TANF Staff, Deming site:

Sherie Johnny, Assistant Director, sjohnny@nooksack-nsn.gov
Sarah Cline; sarahc@nooksack-nsn.gov

Dan S. Roberts, droberts@nooksack-nsn.gov
Rosalina Joseph, rjoseph@nooksack-nsn.gov
Heidi Davis, hdavis@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

TANF Staff, Skagit site: – (360) 848-1758, Fax – (360) 848-1768
Sativa Salazar, ssalazar@nooksack-nsn.gov

Jill Walker, jwalker@nooksack-nsn.gov

GED Classes – Deming and Skagit, (360) 592-0135 ext. 5124

Desmond Naughton; dnaughton@nooksack-nsn.gov

Emergency Food Assistance, (360) 592-0135
For Food Bank, Food Vouchers and Commodity Foods.
Crystal Bailey, cbailey@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

Energy Assistance, (360) 592-0135
For emergency energy assistance.
Crystal Bailey, cbailey@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

Domestic Violence Department, (360) 592-0135

Leon Cline, lcline@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

Elders Program, (360) 592-0100
Char Roberts, proberts@nooksack-nsn.gov

Elders Victim Assistance

Char Roberts, proberts@nooksack-nsn.gov

Leon Cline, lcline@nooksack-nsn.gov

(360) 966-9696
Charise Wenzl, Tutor, cwenzl@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

For more information about the Social Services Department, contact us at 5061 Deming Road, Deming, WA 98244, by phone at (360) 592-0135 or fax at (360) 301-5099.

Be Sociable, Share!


Updates from our Social Services Department ...

View on Facebook

The Youth Department is closed this week to prepare for our Summer Program, and the Summer Program will begin on July 5. Youth will not be admitted to the Program unless they have a completed application on file. The applications are available at www.nooksacktribe.org and they can be e-mailed to jmissing@nooksacktribe.org. You can also drop them off at Timber Ridge or at the Tribe’s Administration Building. For more information, contact the Youth Department at (360) 966-9696. ...

View on Facebook

Upcoming fundraiser! ...

View on Facebook

A reminder that Nooksack Tribal Head Start is accepting applications for the 2017-2018 school year! If you or if you know of any families that has a 3 or 4 year old, send them my way. We service tribal and non-tribal families in our service area!

Spots fill up quickly so get your application in ASAP!!!

Office Number: 360-592-0141 (Ask for Carmen or Rikki)
...

View on Facebook

Upcoming event presented by the Nooksack Health Clinic. ...

View on Facebook