Natural & Cultural Resource Departments

Working for Treaty protection & cultural preservation

The Natural & Cultural Resources Departments together fulfill the Tribe’s mission of cultural preservation and of protecting, restoring, and sustainably managing Treaty natural resources within the Tribe’s 780,000-acre Usual and Accustomed (U&A) Grounds and Stations area.

The Tribe’s U&A area spans from the international border to the north to Samish Bay to the south, and from the crest of the North Cascades to the east to the San Juan Islands to the west. The U&A area includes the Nooksack River watershed, Samish River watershed, coastal tributaries, and nearby marine waters to and including the San Juan Islands. Within the U&A area are important shellfish gathering areas including Drayton Harbor, Birch Bay, Semiahmoo Spit, and Bellingham Bay.

Cultural & Natural Resources staff contribute to this mission under four categories: (1) fisheries harvest and hatchery management; (2) habitat restoration, watershed management, and ecosystem recovery planning; (3) monitoring and assessment; and (4) resource protection. This work is conducted through the Cultural Resources Department and three Natural Resources Department programs:

  1. Fisheries and Resource Protection Program
  2. Water Resources Program
  3. Habitat Program

Natural & Cultural Resources Staff

  • George Swanaset Jr.

    Cultural Resources Director

    george.swanasetjr@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3232

  • Ned Currence

    Interim Natural Resources Director / Fisheries and Resource Protection Program

    ncurrence@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3137

  • Treva Coe

    Assistant Natural Resources Director / Habitat Program

    tcoe@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3144

  • Tricia Cline

    Administrative Assistant, Natural Resources

    tricia.cline@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3132

Cultural Resources Department

  • Jeremiah Johnny

    Treaty Protection Advocate (TPA)

    jjohnny@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3138

  • Trevor Delgado

    Tribal Historic Preservation Officer (THPO)

    tdelgado@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3234

  • Sandra Joseph

    Cultural Resources Program Manager

    sjoseph@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3233

  • (Vacant)

    Cultural Resource Administrator

Natural Resources Department

Fisheries Program

  • Mike Maudlin

    Forest and Fish Specialist/Restoration Geomorphologist

    mmaudlin@nooksack-nsn.go

    x3136

  • Jim Bura

    Fisheries Data Specialist

    jbura@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3134

  • Darren Malloway

    Fisheries Technician I

    dmalloway@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3133

  • Richard Edwards

    Fisheries Technician II

    reedwards@nooksack-nsn.gov

  • Joe Rodriguez

    Fisheries Biologist

    jrodriguez@nooksack-nsn.gov

Water resources program

  • (Vacant)

    Water Resources Program Manager

  • Margaret Taylor

    Water Resources Specialist

    mtaylor@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3142

  • Rich Auguston

    Water Quality Technician II

    rauguston@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3140

  • Tom Cline

    Water Quality Technician III

    tcline@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3143

Habitat Program

  • Lindsie Fratus-Thomas

    Watershed Restoration Coordinator

    lfratus@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3135

  • Eric Stover

    Watershed Restoration Coordinator

    estover@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3141

  • Sindick Bura

    Restoration Crew Lead

    sbura@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3145

  • Aaron Cline

    Restoration Technician

    aaron.cline@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x1748