Natural & Cultural Resources Department

The mission of the Natural & Cultural Resources Department is to protect, restore, and sustainably manage the Tribe’s Treaty natural resources in the Tribe’s 780,000 acre Usual and Accustomed (U&A) Grounds and Stations area spanning from the international border to the north, Samish Bay to the south, the crest of the North Cascades to the east, and the San Juan Islands to the west. The U&A area includes the Nooksack River watershed, Samish River watershed, and coastal tributaries, and nearby marine waters to and including the San Juans.

Within the U&A area are important shellfish gathering areas including Drayton Harbor, Birch Bay, Semiahmoo Spit, and Bellingham Bay.  Department staff contribute to this mission in four categories: (1) fisheries harvest and hatchery management; (2) habitat restoration, watershed management, and ecosystem recovery planning; (3) monitoring and assessment; and (4) resource protection.  The four programs of the department include:

  1. Cultural Resources Program
  2. Fisheries and Resource Protection Program
  3. Water Resources Program
  4. Habitat Program

Staff Contacts

  • George Swanasett Jr

    Natural and Cultural Resources Director

    george.swanasetjr@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3232

  • Tricia Cline

    Administrative Assistant

    tricia.cline@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3132

Cultural Resources Program

  • Jeremiah Johnny

    Treaty Protection Advocate (TPA)

    jjohnny@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3235

  • Trevor Delgado

    Tribal Historic Preservation Officer (THPO)

    tdelgado@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3234

  • Sandra Joseph

    Cultural Resources Advocate

    sjoseph@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3233

Fisheries Program

  • Ned Currence

    Fisheries and Resource Protection Program Manager

    ncurrence@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3284

  • Mike Maudlin

    Forest and Fish Specialist/Restoration Geomorphologist

    mmaudlin@nooksack-nsn.go

    x3136

  • Jim Bura

    Fisheries Data Specialist

    jbura@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3134

  • Joe Rodriguez

    Fisheries Technician

    jrodriguez@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3133

  • Darren Malloway

    Fisheries Technician

    dmalloway@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3133

Water resources program

  • Oliver Grah

    Water Resources Program Manager

    ograh@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3139

  • Jezra Beaulieu

    Water Resources Specialist

    jbeaulieu@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3142

  • Rich Auguston

    Water Quality Technician II

    rauguston@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3140

  • Tom Cline

    Water Quality Technician III

    tcline@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3143

Habitat Program

  • Treva Coe

    Habitat Program Manager

    tcoe@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3144

  • Lindsie Fratus-Thomas

    Watershed Restoration Coordinator

    lfratus@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3135

  • Eric Stover

    Watershed Restoration Coordinator

    estover@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3141

  • Sindick Bura

    Restoration Crew Lead

    sbura@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x3145

  • Aaron Cline

    Restoration Technician

    aaron.cline@nooksack-nsn.gov

    x1748