Education Department

The Nooksack Education Department provides quality educational opportunities from early childhood through life in accordance with the Tribe’s need for cultural and economic well-being in keeping with the wide diversity of the Tribe as distinct cultural and governmental entities. The Nooksack Education Department considers the whole person, taking into account the spiritual, mental, physical and cultural aspects of the person within family and Tribal context.

Grants

The Education department manages several education grants that Tribal Members can apply for regarding adult basic education, higher education, adult vocational technical education, career training and technical education and school expenses and extracurricular expenses.

Applications can be made available and assisted with step-by-step by contacting:

  • Jessica Williams

    Employment/Career Coordinator

    Email: jessica.williams@nooksack-nsn.gov

    Phone: (360) 966 2043 x4106

Student Support

For our struggling students, the parent or teacher may initiate the referral process by contacting Nooksack Education staff. We will make sure the school district Release of Educational Records form is signed by parents and we will set up a conference (through email or in person) with the teacher to make sure specific goals are set for students and communication lines are open.

Things we offer:

  • After school homework assistance
  • Two fully equipped classrooms including tribal library and computer lab
  • Summer reading/math programs
  • Cultural workshops
  • Nooksack language classes
  • Liaison for a parent having difficulty communicating with the school
  • Staff can accompany parent to conferences or IEP meetings/provide transportation
  • Communication with teachers about student performance and homework completion
  • One on one tutoring (with a referral) Keith Lindsey 6-12, Charise Wenzl K-5
  • Small group tutoring (with a referral)
  • WWU Woodring College of Education volunteers every quarter

For more information about the Education Department, call (360) 966 2043

Staff

  • Donia Edwards

    Director

    Email: dedwards@nooksack-nsn.gov

    Phone: (360) 966 2043 x4103

  • Jessica Williams

    Employment Career Coordinator / Directors Assistant

    Email: jessica.williams@nooksack-nsn.gov

    Phone: (360) 966 2043 x4106

  • Keith Lindsey

    Teen Enrichment & Prevention Program Manager

    Email: klindsey@nooksack-nsn.gov

    Phone: (360) 966 2043 x4111

  • Loren Roberts

    Language Instructor

    Email: lroberts@nooksack-nsn.gov

    Phone: (360) 966 2043 x4110

  • Charise Wenzl

    Education & Academic Enrichment Manager

    Email: cwenzl@nooksack-nsn.gov

    Phone: (360) 966 2043 x4109

  • Ravenia Williams

    Tribal Education Liaison, Cultural Coordinator/Tutor

    Email: rdwilliams@nooksack-nsn.gov

    Phone: (360) 966 2043 x4112

  • Carmen Cooper

    Head Start Program Manager

    Email: carmen.cooper@nooksack-nsn.gov

    Phone: (360) 966 2043 x3502

  • Amy Brandland

    Lead Teacher / Disabilities Coordinator

    Email: ABrandland@nooksack-nsn.gov

    Phone: (360) 966 2043 x2501

  • Debi Bentley

    Teacher CERTIFIED

    Email: DBentley@nooksack-nsn.gov

    Phone: (360) 966 2043 x3505