Social Services Department

The Social Services Department consists of various programs that create stronger well being for all of our Tribal members. Below you’ll find more information about the programs within the Social Services Department.

Department Director

  • Heidi Davis

    Director of Social Services

    Email: hdavis@nooksack-nsn.gov

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)

TANF will make available the tools necessary to promote the empowering of Indian families to become self-sufficient so they can support and nurture themselves, their children, and community. TANF is a Federal and State funded program that provides cash assistance and supportive services to Native American families who are in need.

You can receive:

  • Cash Assistance/Supportive Services
  • Education Development
  • Career Development
  • Child Care Assistance
  • Transportation Assistance
  • K-12 Clothing Allowance

In order to be eligible for the Tribal TANF Program, you must meet the following criteria:

  • One member of the household must be able to provide proof of membership with Federally recognized tribe through enrollment.
  • Be the guardian/caretaker or a needy Native American minor, or be in your third trimester of pregnancy.
  • Reside within the designated service area in Whatcom/Skagit County.
  • Must meet income guidelines of equal to or less than 150 percent

Required Documents

  • Valid Washington State Identification
  • Birth Certificates for all children
  • Social Security Cards
  • Proof of Tribal Enrollment
  • Proof of Income
  • Social Security Income Statements
  • Veterans Benefit Income Statements
  • Per Capita Payments
  • Wages/Salary Check Stubs
  • Current Child Immunization Records
  • K-12 Enrollment and Attendance Verification for all school age children
  • Current Bank Statements
  • Residency Verification

For more information about the Nooksack TANF Program please contact :

Social Services Staff

TANF Staff, Deming site:

  • Sherie Johnny

    Assistant Director

    Email: sjohnny@nooksack-nsn.gov

  • Sarah Cline

    Email: sarahc@nooksack-nsn.gov

  • Dan S. Roberts

    Email: droberts@nooksack-nsn.gov

  • Rosalena Joseph

    Email: rjoseph@nooksack-nsn.gov

TANF Staff, Skagit site

  • Phone: (360) 848-1758

    Fax: (360) 848-1768

  • Sativa Robertson

    Lead TANF/CCDF Case Manager

    Email: srobertson@nooksack-nsn.gov

  • Jennifer Boome

    Email: jboome@nooksack-nsn.gov

GED Classes – Deming and Skagit

Emergency Food Assistance

  • For Food Bank, Food Vouchers and Commodity Foods:

    Phone: (360) 592-0135

  • Crystal Bailey

    Email: cbailey@nooksack-nsn.gov

  • Dan S. Roberts

    mail: sroberts@nooksack-nsn.gov

Elders Program

  • Phone: (360) 303-1592

  • Leon Cline

    Email: lcline@nooksack-nsn.gov

  • Setoga Tigilau

    Transportation

    Email: stigilau@nooksack-nsn.gov