Departments

Social Services Services Department

The Social Services Department consists of various programs that create stronger wellbeing for all of our Tribal members. Below you’ll find more information about the programs within the Social Services Department:

 

Department Director
Nadeen Jimmy, is the Director of Social Services. She can be reached at njimmy@nooksack-nsn.gov.

 

TANF – Temporary Assistance for Needy Families

TANF will make available the tools necessary to promote the empowering of Indian families to become self-sufficient so they can support and nurture themselves, their children, and community. TANF is a Federal and State funded program that provides cash assistance and supportive services to Native American families who are in need.

 

You can receive:
Cash Assistance/Supportive Services
– Education Development
– Career Development
– Child Care Assistance
– Transportation Assistance
– K-12 Clothing Allowance

 

In order to be eligible for the Tribal TANF Program, you must meet the following criteria:
One member of the household must be able to provide proof of membership with Federally recognized tribe through enrollment.
– Be the guardian/caretaker or a needy Native American minor, or be in your third trimester of pregnancy.
– Reside within the designated service area in Whatcom/Skagit County.
– Must meet income guidelines of equal to or less than 150 percent

 

Required Documents
Valid Washington State Identification
– Birth Certificates for all children
– Social Security Cards
– Proof of Tribal Enrollment
– Proof of Income
– Social Security Income Statements
– Veterans Benefit Income Statements
– Per Capita Payments
– Wages/Salary Check Stubs
– Current Child Immunization Records
– K-12 Enrollment and Attendance Verification for all school age children
– Current Bank Statements
– Residency Verification

 

For more information about the Nooksack TANF Program please contact Heidi Davis, Program Manager, at (360) 592-0135.

TANF Staff, Deming site:

Sherie Johnny, Assistant Director, sjohnny@nooksack-nsn.gov
Sarah Cline; sarahc@nooksack-nsn.gov

Dan S. Roberts, droberts@nooksack-nsn.gov
Rosalina Joseph, rjoseph@nooksack-nsn.gov
Heidi Davis, hdavis@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

TANF Staff, Skagit site: – (360) 848-1758, Fax – (360) 848-1768
Sativa Salazar, ssalazar@nooksack-nsn.gov

Jennifer Boome, jboome@nooksack-nsn.gov

GED Classes – Deming and Skagit, (360) 592-0135 ext. 5124

Desmond Naughton; dnaughton@nooksack-nsn.gov
Charise Wenzl, Tutor, cwenzl@nooksack-nsn.gov, (360) 966-9696

Emergency Food Assistance, (360) 592-0135
For Food Bank, Food Vouchers and Commodity Foods.
Crystal Bailey, cbailey@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

Energy Assistance, (360) 592-0135
For emergency energy assistance.
Crystal Bailey, cbailey@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

Domestic Violence Department, (360) 592-0135

Leon Cline, lcline@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

Elders Program, (360) 303-1592
Tricia Cline, tricia.cline@nooksack-nsn.gov

Jill Walker, jwalker@nooksack-nsn.gov

Leon Cline, lcline@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

Elders Victim Assistance, (360) 592-0135

Char Roberts, proberts@nooksack-nsn.gov

Leon Cline, lcline@nooksack-nsn.gov

 

 

For more information about the Social Services Department, contact us at 5061 Deming Road, Deming, WA 98244, by phone at (360) 592-0135 or fax at (360) 306-5099.



Current Job Openings as of December 13th. ...

View on Facebook

Thank you again to our awesome staff who handed out the holiday support checks yesterday and today! Any checks not picked up will be mailed today to the address on file with Enrollment. ...

View on Facebook

This camp is open to children ages 5 to 18 who are enrolled Nooksack Tribal Members, or who are children of enrolled Nooksack Tribal Members. Contact Rikkole Edwards to register by 12/17. All attendees must pre-register to attend. ...

View on Facebook

Holiday support check distribution is today from 9:30am to 3:00pm. Distribution will end at 3pm sharp. If you do not have your check in hand by 3pm, you will have to get it via mail.

Please note:
- Make sure you're there well in advance of 3pm, we will have to stop at exactly 3pm to ensure any checks not picked up get into the mail today
- Photo ID is required
- Our crew will be working through lunch so any time between those hours is fine for pick up

Questions? Comment here or message the fan page and we will try to help you out!
...

View on Facebook